Car Accident Laws in Utah

Car accidents are a common sight, especially in cities like Salt Lake City. Whether it’s a fender bender in rush-hour traffic, or if it’s a crash on the highway, an accident can be devastating and leave you with serious injuries.

Your accident may have been the fault of another driver, but that doesn’t guarantee that you’ll get the compensation you deserve. You’ll instead need to also focus on the laws that affect your claim. While the following doesn’t cover every law that will affect your claim, you can expect these laws to affect your claim.

When you’re looking for car accident lawyers in SLC, be sure that you speak to them about laws affecting your claim. You’ll need to stay aware of these laws and be ready to fight back when they affect your claim.

Filing on Time

First, keep in mind that you have a limited amount of time to file your claim. Also known as the “statute of limitations,” this time limit will bar you from recovery if you don’t act within that limit. For Utah accidents, that means acting within four years.

This will be one of the first major laws to affect your claim, since you’ll need to consider it before you ever file your claim. This limit, however, does protect your evidence. Some pieces of evidence could be lost or decay over time, which means less for you to use to prove your claim. As such, the time limit pushes you to act now, while your evidence is still fresh.

Negligence Laws for Your Claim

Once you reach the courtroom, you’ll need help defending your claim from accusations of negligence on your part. While the other person may be at fault for the serious injuries they caused, your own part in the accident could be used against you.

Let’s say you were driving distracted and were hit by another driver. While you didn’t cause the accident, you weren’t paying enough attention to avoid the accident. So, the defense might use that against you. They’ll claim you were responsible in part for the accident, and so the judge might decide that you were 20 percent at fault.

While this doesn’t sound like much, that means that you’ll receive just 80 percent of the full compensation you deserve. This makes recovering much more difficult, so speak to your lawyer about fighting back against accusations of fault.

Get Help from an Attorney

Dealing with the pain and expenses of a car accident can be difficult. Even if you’re certain that the other person is at fault for your crash, you’ll need to protect your claim against the laws affecting your claim.

However, a lawyer can help you do that. You’ll need someone who can help you get your claim started in time, so you don’t miss your chance for compensation. Once you’ve done that, you’ll also need to fight back against claims that you were responsible, so you’ll need an attorney that can fight for your compensation.

So, if you’re struggling with your claim, speak to a lawyer about the lawyers that will affect your Utah car crash claim. You’ll need as much help as possible for a successful claim, so fight back with the help of an attorney.

Please follow and like us: